Manuel Lujan Excellence in Education Scholarship

2020 Recipients

Kate Marquez, Katie Mancilla, Shyana Nguyen, Delaney Oberg, Esme Eyrich, Andres Chavez, Leslie Flores, Prabhleen Kaur, Kaitlyn Ward, Korey Padilla, Heber Rios, Laura Oldfield, Madison Turner, Lucas Zhou, Jonah Haven, Julian Martinez, Morgan Kapperman, Garrett Noblitt, Kimberly Quiroz Loya, Jaden Castellano and Teresa Barraza

As a twenty-year member of the United States House of Representatives, Manuel Lujan, Jr. saw the need to help young people with their college costs. A fund was established in his honor to provide resources to students from 24 designated central New Mexico high schools.

Scholarships are awarded for graduating seniors attending a New Mexico four-year college/university.  Each designated high school selects one student for a $500 per year award, renewable over four years of undergraduate studies.

Guidelines and Criteria:

  • Graduating high school senior chosen annually by each of the designated high schools listed below
  • Student must continue their education in New Mexico
  • Minimum cumulative GPA 2.5
  • Attend a college or university full time

Designated high schools:

  • Albuquerque Academy
  • Albuquerque High School
  • Cibola High School
  • Del Norte High School
  • Eldorado High School
  • Estancia High School
  • Fort Sumner High School
  • Freedom High School
  • Highland High School
  • Hope Christian High School
  • La Cueva High School
  • Manzano High School
  • Menaul High School
  • Moriarty High School
  • Mountainair High School
  • Rio Grande High School
  • Sandia High School
  • Sandia Preparatory School
  • Santa Rosa High School
  • St. Pius X High School
  • To’Hajiilee High School
  • Valley High School
  • Vaughn High School
  • West Mesa High School
Thursday, April 1, 2021 | 5:00 PM MST


Search our site